DIY Care Bear Costume

title photo

Are you all ready for my first tutorial? I’m not very good at taking photos of my process when I create something but I am working on it. Please bear with me.  (See what I did there? BEAR with me?). Our oldest (EJ) is going as Grumpy Bear for Halloween. Her Mimi found her this costume online.

Image

She is so stinking cute in it.  So her little sissy is going as a Care Bear too. Its hard to find Care bear costumes and especially for babies. Big sister also has a very specific request about which Care Bear EV goes as. She has to be the baby Care Bear, Wonderheart.  I didn’t know who the baby Care Bear was other than seeing the doll at the store. So for those who are like me and didn’t know who Wonderheart was here is a picture:

Cute, huh? I knew I was going to be making her a costume so I wanted to make it as easy on myself as I could. I found an outfit for $4/piece at Target that had a pink jacket and pink pants last month and bought them in a size bigger than she was in at the time. Then I bought some iron on transfer paper from Walmart.  I don’t know how the hubs did it but he found an image of Wonderheart’s belly badge on-line and with the magic of photo shop separated it into two pieces and made them the right size for EV’s jacket.

Image

Then I printed it out on the transfer paper. (*Note: you will want to mirror or flip your image. We did not do this since our image was symmetrical and had no writing on it.) Once it was printed I cut right around the heart pieces and ironed them onto two separate pieces of white fabric to make the background of the belly badge.

Image

After peeling off the paper backing from the image I folded the inside edges so there would be a nice seam and the edges of the images would line up. Then I traced a circle around them to create the shape for the belly badge.

Image

Here is the part that gets tricky. I decided I would applique this to her jacket. One problem, I’m not great with a satin stitch….yet. I got better with it as I went but part of it looks really bad. You can totally see where I started to get better at it as I went. The left side looks way better than the right. This is a technique I will be working on as I would love to put up some appliqued items in my shop.

100_4013

I also made her some really cute bear ear hair clips to go with it. I think it will be pretty cold on Halloween so I am probably going to try to make her a hat with bear ears instead. If I get that done I will post an update.

photo

I’d love to hear from you. What are your kiddos going to be for Halloween?

Ya’ll don’t forget to check out my Facebook page where I am running a giveaway. After I get 100 likes one of my fans will get a bow of their choice. If you share the page you get double the entries!
About kimelliott

Trying out the blogging world.
This entry was posted in Tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Care Bear Costume

  1. MightyMama says:

    Cute!!!

  2. MightyMama says:

    I also liked your FB page!!! Check out mine when you get a chance 🙂 https://www.facebook.com/MightyMamaBlog

Leave a Reply

