Craft Room Tour

100_4023 copy

I thought it might be fun to show you all where I do all my creating at. I’ve just recently gone through and reorganized my craft space that also serves as my office and a guest bedroom should we ever have guests stay with us. I’ll share with you where I got a few of the items that I use to organize my space.

100_4015

As I mentioned above I share my crafty space with our guest room. This is the fun colorful bedspread I had from before I got married. I love the banner that I just bought at Walmart for  less than $1! Adds a nice pop of color to the bare wall.

100_4016

This picture is from right inside the door. The door to the room is on the left and the door on the right is for a small closet. Trust me you don’t want to see a picture of the inside of that closet as it is the one space in the room that has not been organized. This wonderful piece of furniture is a small cabinet that has an ironing board on the back.  We found it at a consignment sale and yes it already had the burn mark but I think it adds character. The picture hanging above it was a craft that the Hubby and EJ made for my second mother’s day. I believe she was just under a year and a half at the time.

100_4017

Next to the closet I have my little sewing corner. You can see some toys that my daughter had in there by the sewing cabinet. My sewing cabinet is my favorite treasure in my craft room. My mom gave it to me and it had been her mom’s so it is a family heirloom. I have my Viking Angelica sewing machine on the cabinet that my mom also gave me when I really got into sewing. The little bowl holds my sewing pins and I glued a very strong magnet on the bottom.  You can see my new pegboard organization in this picture. I got the pegboard from Home depot and had it cut in half. Then I spray painted it green to go with the room. I have the other half hanging up in a nook  I will show you in another photo.

100_4018

In the previous photo and this one you can see that I have a pack n play in my craft room for EV to keep her from getting into things that she shouldn’t if I need to have her with me. This bookshelf holds almost all of my fabric stash. I have some more in a bin under my cutting table. I really love using comic book  boards for making mini bolts of fabric. Its a great way to store fabric neatly.

100_4019

Here is the little nook I was talking about. This is probably my most organized area of my craft room. I got all the green bins from the Dollar Tree. The bins on the top shelf are projects that are in process. As you can see all of them are full so that means I need to get busy. The next shelf down holds my hair thing making supplies. Below that are my yarns, knitting needles, and crochet hooks. As the weather gets colder I’ll be pulling those back out and hopefully adding a few crochet projects to the etsy shop.  The bottom two shelves are for my paper crafting/scrapbooking.  You can see on the right side I have another pegboard on this wall. It holds some tools and my current inventory for the etsy shop.

100_4020

Here is a close up of that pegboard.

100_4023

This table is the hub of the craft room. It’s where I do my measuring and cutting. I use my laptop here to edit pictures for the shop, write the blog posts and for all other office type responsibilities. Below this table I have my printers and a fabric scrap bin. You can see the Bulletin board I covered with fabric. I put up current orders that need to be fulfilled along with other reminders. If you have been to the shop you have seen it used as the background for the child’s apron listing.  It adds much needed organization and color to the room.

There you have it. The space and organization behind Kimmie Made. What are some of your favorite organizing techniques?

About kimelliott

Trying out the blogging world.
This entry was posted in crafting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Craft Room Tour

  1. Nancy Sears says:

    You have a wonderful craft room and the two apron projects (1 ladies and 1 mans) I ordered from you look wonderful and meet the needs of keeping out cloths clean while we juice in the morning before heading off to work. Hope you have great success with your shop.

Leave a comment